Governing Body

The Woodroffe School governing body consists of 18 governors:

  • 5 parent governors
  • 1 local authority governor
  • The head teacher
  • 1 staff governor
  • 8 co-opted governors
  • 2 partnership governors

There are currently 3 governor vacancies: one partnership governor and two co-opted governors.

Parent governors are elected by parents/carers or, if there are insufficient candidates, appointed by the governing body. Local authority governors are – as the name suggests – appointed by the local authority. Staff governors are elected by the school staff. The governing body seeks nominations for partnership governors from parents and carers and others in the community with an interest in the school. The governing body appoints, as co-opted governors, people who have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

The governing body has the following committees:
  • The Finance and Resources Committee
  • The Standards, Staffing and Curriculum Committee
  • The Head Teacher’s Performance Review Committee
  • Pay and Pay Review Committee

The Finance and Resources Committee is responsible for monitoring the school’s income and expenditure against the approved budget. It also considers matters relating to the building and grounds, including health and safety.

The Standards, Staffing and Curriculum Committee monitors the quality of teaching, standards and progress achieved by pupils. It monitors the staffing structure and has oversight of the school curriculum and timetable, including how the curriculum is taught, evaluated and resourced.

The Head Teacher’s Performance Review Committee considers the headteacher’s performance against objectives set for the year, in conjunction with the School Evaluation Partner (an experienced school leader or senior LA adviser).

The Pay and Pay Review Committee reviews the school pay policies and receives recommendations from the Headteacher on the pay of teaching and support staff.

Governors are also invited to attend a School Improvement Group. This is a working group that provides advice and guidance to the Head and the senior leadership team and also monitors school actions against the aims and targets set out in the School Learning Plan. It is not minuted.

Our current governors are:
Chair of the Governors
Peter Fortnam
Vice-Chair of the Governors
Mary Kahn (SEN & Safeguarding Lead)
Parent Governors Appointed Expiry of Office
Mr J Smith 25.04.2016 24.04.2020
Mrs Mary Kahn 01.05.2010 30.04.2018
Ms Sarah Earwicker 30.04.2014 29.04.2018
Ms Jo Birnie 04.01.2016 03.01.2020
Ms Julia Bennett 30.04.2014 29.04.2018
Local Authority Governor
Mrs Jane Beck 14.06.1998 13.06.2018
Staff Governor
Mrs Wendy Jones  03.01.2017 02.01.2021
The Headteacher
Dr Richard Steward
Partnership Governors
Mr Peter Fortnam  01.09.1994 31.08.2018
Co-opted Governors
Mr Mat Daly  01.04.2006  26.01.2019
Mr C Sweetland  15.11.2007  26.01.2019
Mr N Pullinger  09.11.2006  26.01.2019
Mr D Gilbert  13.04.2015  12.04.2019
Mr Gil Ross  01.05.2012  30.14.2020
Mr Jonathan Oates  01.11.2015  31.10.2019
Clerk to the Governors
Miss Wendy Howard

For further information, or to contact the governing body please email:

Membership of Committees

Finance and Resources

  • Jane Beck
  • Mat Daly
  • Peter Fortnam
  • Mary Kahn
  • Jon Oates
  • Neil Pullinger (Chair)
  • Gil Ross (Vice-Chair)
  • Richard Steward

Standards, Staffing & Curriculum

  • Julia Bennett
  • Jo Birnie
  • Sarah Earwicker (Chair)
  • Peter Fortnam
  • Doug Gilbert
  • Mary Kahn
  • Gil Ross
  • John Smith
  • Richard Steward
  • Chris Sweetland (Vice-Chair)

Head Teacher’s Performance Review Committee

  • Julia Bennett
  • Sarah Earwicker
  • Peter Fortnam
  • Mary Kahn

Pay & Pay Review

  • Julia Bennett
  • Peter Fortnam
  • Mary Kahn
  • Neil Pullinger (Chair)
  • Richard Steward
Attendance at Meetings

Title Download
Governor Attendance at Meetings 2015-16
Governor Attendance at Meetings 2014-15

Governors with relevant business and pecuniary interests which may arise from relationships between governors and school staff:

  • Mr Fortnam and his wife are company directors of a local estate agency.
  • Mr Gilbert works in the area of education as a data advisor with Dorset County Council.
  • Mr Oates is a trustee of The Town Mill.
  • Mr Pullinger is a trustee of the following charities: Ethelston BesticTrust, The Uplyme Village Hall, the Uplyme Pre-School and Uplyme United Charities. He is also an Uplyme town councillor.
  • The Head’s wife teaches at Woodroffe.
  • Ms Birnie lectures in psychology at Exeter College.
  • Mrs Kahn is a trustee of B Sharp.